Michael Urquhart is the new Chair of the Scottish Committee

The Scottish Committee met at the Scotch Malt Whisky Society’s premises in Queen Street, Edinburgh on Thursday 2nd December with the Master joining by Zoom. Various items were discussed, principally around the planning for the Scottish Dinner on 22nd September 2022 at the Signet Library and the annual lecture for ICBD students. The Master provided an update on his plans for his year.

There was also a “changing of the guard” as Brian Morrison retired as chair of the Scottish Committee with Michael Urquhart assuming the role. There were many warm tributes to Brian for his commitment, his steering of the Committee and ensuring its work resulted in the Distillers being at the heart of the industry in Scotland.

The Committee were also delighted to have resumed an in person ceremony, granting of Freedom of the Company to Scott Allen and Ronnie Macdonald and allowing them to continue their journey to become Liverymen before enjoying a splendid lunch.

Thanks go to SMWS for hosting and we look forward to dining out Past Chairman Morrison in the New Year.